When the Levees Broke Film Critique

As I mentioned in my last blog, I really wanted to do a film analysis of When the Levees Broke, but since I wasn’t sure how to go about it, I looked up some guidelines from a few websites. This film analysis website had the easiest step-by-step guideline, so I’ll be using it for my blog, but I’ll skip the parts that I’ve already done with my two previous blogs, and I’ll only focus on the film techniques.

Film Techniques that I liked About the film:

  1. Shot angles:
    • The zoom shots, and the extreme close-ups

  2. Editing:
    • Flashforward and flashbacks: The integration of clips from news footage, and other recordings, was consistent throughout the film, and executed really well. These clips provided the audience with a sense of how it felt to live during the time of the hurricane. They also granted the audience an understanding of the past.
    • Diegetic Sounds: The synchronous sounds from the music within the film intensified the emotional atmosphere of the film, such as the jazz music played at the end.

  • The flow of discussion: Lee did a great job establishing connections among the interviewees. This is especially exemplified by the scene where each of the residents talks about the terrible heat.
  • Length: The documentary is definitely unique in that it doesn’t fit into the average documentary length. However, even if the film was four hours, it managed to capture an immense amount of a year’s worth of occurrences.
Leave a Reply

